Lions, Tigers, and Burt Reynolds…OH MY!

As most people who know me know, I have a thing for zoos.  At the same time as I am completely fascinated by animals, I am completely terrified by them.  Animals are just so extraordinary with all of their unique survival skills and adaptations.  I love to learn about them and try to every chance I get.  One of the things I knew I wanted to do when we moved down here was to check out this super cool looking zoo I saw online, Wildlife World Zoo, Aquarium, and Safari Park (check out their website).

I got super lucky in that one of my amazing co-workers that I met my first week on the job actually works there!  She’s even more into zoos than I am!  She is so wonderful and we had planned to meet out there yesterday.  However, due to school work, she wasn’t able to make it but still called in tickets for us (seriously, I told you she is amazing).  We were fortunate enough to have gotten passes where we got to do all the rides for free, which was great because we had planned to skip most of them to save money.  Instead, we were able to do some really awesome things.

IMG_2426

I’m lucky enough to call this awesome, zoo loving guy my husband.  As you’ll see in the photos to come, he loves zoos and animals just as much as I do.

IMG_2414 IMG_2421

One of Jon’s favorite parts of the zoo was the sea lion show.  What was really neat is that they explained that their sea lions are 4, 5, and 6 years old, so too young for crazy tricks, but they are still learning the basics.  Considering much of the audience was 4, 5, and 6 years old, it was perfect.  Both of us LOVED feeding the stingrays.  It was so strange, awesome, and scary all at the same time.  You put a piece of shrimp between your fingers and put  your hard flat against the wall.  Then, the stingray would swam up to you and suction it out of your hand.  The stingrays didn’t feel anything like we thought they would.  The attendant probably thought we were crazy because we were laughing and squealing so hard, but we had so much fun (and only one of us was actually squealing).

IMG_2448

One of our favorite individual animals is this super hilarious kangaroo we dubbed Burt Reynolds.  If you don’t get the reference, google it at home…not at work.

IMG_2438 IMG_2449 IMG_2450

Our absolute favorite part of the day was the time we spent at the petting zoo.  Seriously, it was so hilarious and cute.  This little goat thought she should come home with us.  With her black hair and white spots, she’d fit right in.  But despite her bleating and my begging, she had to stay at the zoo.  You were able to feed the animals, and as soon as you walked in you were absolutely bombarded with animals, as seen in my picture.  There were some really selfish goats, but the llamas weren’t going to let them get all the food.  The deer (not pictured) didn’t want any of the food, because they preferred our clothing.  One kept eating the hem of my shirt and another kept eating Jon’s shorts.  We didn’t dare keep our phones out for fear of slobber.

Overall, we had a great experience and will very likely be back again.  We are so thankful to our wonderful friend for this amazing day!

Leave a Reply

