Disney Pin Board

Like any craft loving girl, I spend quite a bit of time on Pinterest; and like any Disney loving crafting girl, I have a Disney board. My Disney Pinterest Board

One new project I found was a Disney Pin Board.  Jon and I started collecting Disney pins on our first trip to DisneyWorld together in 2011.  Since then, we’ve started trading and saving our favorite pins.  Pin trading might seem lame to those who don’t do it, but it’s actually really fun.  There are plenty of opportunities to trade within the DisneyWorld Resort.  For Jon and I, it’s an inexpensive souvenir that also provides a chance for fun.  It’s almost like a scavenger hunt.  As we’ve collected, I realize that we’ve spent a decent amount of time and money on this, we should see our pins beyond our trips.  So take a look at my new Disney Pin Board.

IMG_8074

I started out with a 24″ x 36″ unframed cork board from Hobby Lobby ($16.99, 30% off).  Then I went to JoAnn’s Fabric and picked out five different Disney fabrics that fit our pin collection.  I got 1/4 yard of the Minnie, Princess, Star Wars, and Buzz Lightyear fabrics, but had to get 7/8 yard of the Mickey fabric because of the striping.   ($10.99/yard, 25% off).

I decided to make the board five, 6″ panels with a 3″ panel on each end.  To do this, I used my cutting board to measure it out and then sew them together.

IMG_2324

For once, I actually remembered to iron the fabric before I used it.  After I sewed each panel, I ironed down the ends to help ensure a smooth lie on the cork board.

IMG_2323

Overall, it only took about 60 minutes from start to finish once I figured out how to do this project.  To finish the board, I simply stapled the fabric to the back to ensure it stays in place.

I thought I would take this chance to highlight some of my favorite pins that we’ve collected so far.

IMG_8090 IMG_8086 IMG_8084

This is my princess collection, Jon and my shared Up pin collection, and Jon’s Star Wars collection.

Our Up collection is our most extensive, but there are so many more to go.  Pins range in prince from $9-$15 for most, but they can run upwards of hundreds of dollars for limited edition or rare pins.

IMG_8082IMG_8083

I also collect romantic, favorite love story pins (in addition to Up).  I love Mickey and Minnie so have collected several of those.  I also enjoy princess pins but want to add to my collection of princes.  So far, I only have the Beast, since these aren’t as popular as princesses it’s been hard to find them.

Jon and I don’t spend much money on our pins, we will buy some if we find them really awesome, like our Up pins and from special events.  Otherwise, we pretty much buy “trader” pins from verified sellers and try to trade at the parks to get pins that we want.  Hopefully we will be going to Disneyland at least 1 time in the next year, so we will be able to grow our collection.

Leave a Reply

