Weekend Off

I’ve only been at this blogging thing for about 1 week, and I already need a break!  Just kidding, but I am not going to be able to bake this weekend as I am off to Minot to visit the in-laws.

Since I am anticipating the extreme disappointment from my loyal readers, I thought I would share one of my most interesting cooking experiences.

When I was probably 18 or 19, I was home over Christmas break from college with my parents.  I decided I would be a good daughter and make dinner for the family.  Since it’s winter, I figured some Chicken Tortilla Soup was in order.  The recipe we use and love is extremely simple:

1 can cream of chicken soup

1 can enchilada sauce

1 can fiesta nacho cheese soup

1 can pre-cooked chicken

1 can milk

Clearly, very simple.  I followed the directions exactly, but when I tasted it, something was off.  When my mom got home, she tasted it and agreed something was off.  She asked me what I used and I told her.

Did you know that 1 can milk meant fill 1 soup can with milk?!  Apparently canned milk (sweetened condensed) does not make good Chicken Tortilla Soup.  No one would eat the soup, so it was leftovers for dinner. 

That is one cooking experience no one in my family will ever forget, and I will never make the same mistake again!

One thought on “Weekend Off

Leave a Reply

